What Are Chakras And Why They’re Important! – by Tana Hoy

The word “chakra” is originally a Sanskrit word that means “wheel”. Chakras are similarly circular in shape and, just like a wheel, spin within your energetic body. Your energetic body is the non-material equivalent of your physical body.

what are chakras

The 7 Chakras

Chakras function as energy centers situated along your body’s midline. The chakras on the lower part of your body govern your instinctual side, while the chakras located on the upper part of your body control your mental functions.

How Are Chakras Connected To Your Physical Body?

Chakras provide energy to body parts and organs they are connected to. Chakras vary in size, energy, and vibration for each person. The flow of energy to the chakras largely determines your state of health, as well as your total physical, emotional, and spiritual balance.

What Are The 7 Chakras?

There are seven main energy centers that connect your physical body with your energetic body. Knowing about the 7 chakras will help you keep these energy centers flowing.

Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine, specifically in the tailbone area. This chakra symbolizes your feeling of being grounded. It also indicates how strong your emotional, spiritual, physical, and energetic foundation is. The root chakra is primarily involved when you have issues with basic necessities such as finances, food, and money.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located on the lower abdomen. It is located two inches below your navel. This chakra represents your connection with others as well as your ability to accept new experiences. The sacral chakra governs your sense of pleasure, well-being, abundance, and sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra

As the name suggests, the solar plexus chakra is located on the upper abdomen. This chakra represents your ability to be in control of your own life. Emotional issues of self-esteem and self-worth are present in the solar plexus chakra.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located at the center of the chest, a few inches above the heart. This chakra represents your ability to give love and receive love. Feelings of love, inner peace, and joy, are evident in a balanced heart chakra.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is located on the throat. This chakra represents your ability to express yourself.

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is located on your forehead, just between your eyes. This chakra helps you see the big picture. It is also the seat of your imagination, intuition, and wisdom.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head. It represents your connection to the spiritual realms. A balanced crown chakra is evidenced by feelings of pure bliss.

How To Cleanse And Balance Your Chakras

Balancing your chakras is important if you want to feel, and be healthy. There are many techniques for balancing chakras. One effective way to balance your chakras is by following the below exercise.

The best thing about this technique is that it can be done in a few minutes. Feel free to modify it according to your own preference.

1. Begin by sitting on a comfortable chair with your feet flat on the floor. Take deep and slow breaths. Feel the air enter your body. Breathe the air into your chest and abdomen; hold your breath for as long as you comfortably can.

2. Slowly release your breath, and exhale through your lips as if you’re blowing out a candle. Do the entire process three times.

3. Next, close your eyes, and imagine a white ball of light above your head. Allow the light to fill your entire body, and let it descend on all of your seven chakras.

4. Make a mental intent that you are releasing all energetic toxins out of your body and your seven chakras.

5. Inhale and exhale deeply, while visualizing all the toxins from your physical and energetic body being released.

6. When you are finished, open your eyes!

Unbalanced chakras create ill health, emotional problems, and mental, or psychological issues, so it is best to cleanse your chakras as often as you can.

Your chakras are always working for your highest good. Balanced chakras help integrate all aspects of yourself, so once your physical and energetic bodies are united, you will effortlessly live in the light of calmness, and radiant self-awareness.

2 Responses

  1. avonne says:

    great info!

  2. darleen camacho says:


    I do not think I can balance my own chakras correctly.

    Can you balance my chakras?

Leave a Reply