What Are The Seven Chakras? – By Psychic Tana Hoy

People often ask me “what are the seven chakras”? To answer the question “what are the seven chakras”, I must first explain to you what a chakra is.

“A chakra is defined as a spinning wheel of light energy. It is the epicentre and core of the spiritual power that you possess in your body. The are seven major chakras.The seven major chakras are positioned along the spinal column, and form the backbone for the networks through which your body, mind, and spirit, act as a universal unit.”

what are the seven chakras

You have energy constantly flowing through the seven chakras of our body. If this energy flowing through the chakras gets blocked, it could very well lead to illness and a sense of despair.
Here I am going to go into more detail about “what are the seven chakras”, where they are located in our body and how they tie in with our emotional and physical well-being.

1. Root Chakra

The root chakra is located just above the tail bone, at the base of the spinal column. It is related to the kidneys, adrenal glands, leg bones and spinal column. Its associated color is red. The root chakra is what grounds your spiritual self to the material world.

It gravitates towards a sense of survival and self-preservation. When your root chakra is balanced, you experience a healthy desire for all the basic necessities of life such as food, clothing, and shelter.
A person whose root chakra is imbalanced will be prone to violent behaviour and will feel victimized and withdrawn from any form of physical reality. A dysfunctional root chakra can lead to issues with your lower back, legs and feet.

2. Sacral Chakra the chakras

The Sacral chakra is also known as the sexual chakra and is located just above the middle of your pubic bone. Its associated color is orange.

It is linked with the uterus, breasts, ovaries or gonads, the reproductive system, prostate gland, bladder and kidneys.

This chakra basically has a bearing on your relationships, sex, and procreational attitudes. A properly functioning sacral chakra fuels your sexuality, creativity and emotions. It causes you to feel spontaneous and important.

Over-indulgence in food or sex and reproductive or sexual disorders are direct results of an imbalanced sacral chakra.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Between two to four inches above your navel is where you will find your solar plexus chakra. Yellow is its color.

It is associated with your autonomic nervous system, spleen, gall bladder, pancreas, liver, stomach and digestive tract. It is here that all your personal power is stored. This personal power is directly responsible for us transforming our material aspirations into reality.

This chakra is related to our sense of purpose and also to your level of self-confidence. A solar plexus chakra that is not functioning effectively will lead to personal insecurities and an incessant need to gain control over people.

the chakras 4. Heart Chakra

The Heart chakra is located pretty much on the same level as your heart is, in the center of your chest.
Its primary color is green but its supplementary color is pink which signifies love. Your heart, hands, skin, immune system, lower lungs, thymus gland, endocrine system and circulatory system are all governed by the heart chakra.

The heart chakra is the epicentre of our emotional well-being and leads to a sense of compassion for others and unconditional love for the special people in your life.

A non-functioning heart chakra often results in feelings of sadness, depression, guilt, anger and fear. It may also lead to organic failure and heart disease.

5. Throat Chakra

You will find your throat chakra in the middle of your throat and it is associated with the color blue. It governs the throat and jaw areas, thyroid glands, digestive tract, vocal chords and lungs.

It is the centre of judgement, expression, creativity and communication. When this chakra is blocked, communication suffers. You may also find yourself over indulging in food and drink and suffering from low self-esteem, respiratory diseases and dental problems. Energizing this chakra improves our psychic hearing abilities.

6. Third Eye Chakra the third eye

The brow chakra is also called the third eye chakra and can be found in the center of your forehead, between your eyes. Its color is indigo.

It manages the central nervous system, the lower brain, the pituitary gland, ears, nose, and the left eye.
This chakra is the gateway to our spiritual and psychic abilities. An open third eye chakra allows you to be intuitive and clairvoyant. When the third eye chakra is blocked it results in irrational thoughts and physical manifestations such as depression, anxiety, insomnia and headaches.

7. Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is situated at the top midsection of your hair area, in the crown of our head. It is associated with the color white and in rare cases, violet. It is also known as the divine chakra, as is it said to connect you to God’s love, energy and spirit.

When you enhance your crown chakra, you are able to tap into spiritual knowledge and wisdom and subsequently enhance your psychic knowledge.

Your chakras are an important part of your spiritual body, and also of your spiritual makeup! I encourage you to read and learn as much about the seven chakras as you can, because they are very important to your emotional and spirutal well-being.

Now that you have a better understanding of “what are the seven chakras”, I hope you can learn to enhance each one and let your positive energy flow through! As you learn more about what are the seven chakras, your life will expand, and your happiness will increase!

2 Responses

  1. Vanessa R says:

    I like that you wrote an article on chakras. I was trying to explain this to someone but couldn’t give them an explanation. Now I can tell them to read this article. Thxs so much!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Please tell me how to open the chakras, thanks

Leave a Reply